News you can trust since 1817

Scottish Whisky Awards return to celebrate the country's best whiskies for the second year

The organisers of the Scottish Whisky Awards have announced that the popular event is set to return for its second year, aiming to once again recognise and celebrate the best whiskies Scotland has to offer. 

Published: February 11, 2020
Categories: , ,

Following its highly successful inaugural event last year, the team behind the prestigious awards say the 2020 competition is set to be the biggest one yet.

The industry focused awards will offer nine business categories, including Scottish Whisky Distillery of the Year and Tourism Destination of the Year, alongside their stringent taste competition, which will be operated under strict blind tasting conditions and adjudicated by the international sensory management consultancy, Cara Technology.

The taste competition will assess the four main categories of Scotch; Single Malt, Blended Malt, Blends and a Single Cask & Speciality category.

Judged by highly regarded independent judging panels comprising a wide range of experts from Scotland, the UK and abroad, this year's panel will once again be chaired by Professor Alan Wolstenholme.

The chair of the Scottish Distiller's Association said this year's focus is on "expanding the range of whiskies" they will welcome into the competition after their hugely successful inaugural year, he said: "Now that our Scotch producers are confident that this competition is rigorous, fair and has real credibility, they will want to be showcasing their best work from the last year.

"Winning a Scottish Whisky Award, as we know from great business success stories of last year, will give finalists and winners a fantastic advantage in an increasingly crowded global market.”

The judging panel will also seek to recognise the outstanding contribution of an individual who has made their mark in the business of Scotch.

The Dr Jim Swan Award for Services to Scotch Whisky was established as an annual award after being presented to Dr Swan posthumously last year.

Old Pulteney launches The Coastal Series - with four new whiskies matured in 'seaside casks'

Presented at the discretion of the judging panel, the award will recognise the dedication of the industry’s unsung heroes.

Last year Speyside's GlenAllachie Distillery took home the top prize, while Arbikie Distillery were named Newcomer of the Year.

This year, the annual awards dinner and celebration will take place in Glasgow at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel on Thursday 3rd September 2020.

Now open for entry, the categories can be found here or by contacting Pippa at KDMedia on 0131 337 6232 or by email

The story of the Glasgow pub that is home to the 'real' Stone of Destiny

READ MORE: In pictures: The winners of the inaugural Scottish Whisky Awards 2019

Driven by a passion for all things drinks-related, Sean writes for The Scotsman extensively on the subject. He can also sometimes be found behind the bar at the world famous Potstill bar in Glasgow where he continues to enhance his whisky knowledge built up over 10 years advising customers from all over the world on the wonders of our national drink. Recently, his first book was published. Dubbed Gin Galore, it explores Scotland's best gins and the stories behind those that make them.

Let us know what you think


Copyright ©2022 National World Publishing Ltd
Cookie SettingsTerms and ConditionsPrivacy Policy
crossmenu linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram