News you can trust since 1817

Laphroaig Live 2015 returns home to Islay to celebrate their 200th anniversary

On Thursday 24th September at 8pm local time the ninth annual Laphroaig Live will broadcast live on the web from the island of Islay.

Published: September 17, 2015
Categories: ,

Laphroaig is celebrating 200 years this year and to mark this very special anniversary Laphroaig Live is returning home to the island of Islay, to showcase four phenomenal whiskies.

They will also be going behind the scenes at the distillery with Laphroaig’s very own distillery manager on this auspicious year, John Campbell, who will be joined by five of the previous distillery managers. This will be the first time they have all been together.

This year Laphroaig will be tasting 4 very special expressions; the one-off Laphroaig 15 YO – the official 200th Expression, the Laphroaig Cairdeas 2015 - distilled using only the original small stills, the Laphroaig 21 YO – created for the Friends of Laphroaig's 21st Birthday and a unique Laphroaig 32 YO - a very rare 100% sherry-matured very rare expression.

Laphroaig

Help Laphroaig break a world record. Picture: Laphroaig

Coming live from Laphroaig’s famous floor maltings - one of only a handful left in the whisky industry - John Campbell and the five previous distillery managers will be joined by two experts Bernhard Schafer - whisky journalist and Master of the Quaich and Emma Andersson, Editor of Allt Om Whisky.

John Campbell. Picture: Laphroaig

Distillery manager John Campbell. Picture: Laphroaig

Also joining John will be Marcel van Gils, author of the official 200th book about Laphroaig as well as many of the Friends of Laphroaig from countries all around the World.

  Innis & Gunn launch Islay whisky cask beer in collaboration with Laphroaig

But the main audience - who will as always be posting in their questions to the panel live on the night - is the worldwide audience of Laphroaig lovers, including a live link to Laphroaig US Whisky Ambassador Simon Brooking who will be joined by 75 Friends of Laphroaig via a live link to New York.

To celebrate this special occasion, Laphroaig will be attempting to set a world record by encouraging the whole global audience to raise a toast to Laphroaig on their 200thanniversary!

You can watch the show live at www.laphroaig.com/live/ on Sept 24th at 8pm local time and if you would like to submit a question for the panel you can send it in now at the above link. Note that John sends out Laphroaig nosing glasses for the best questions.

Also you can join the conversation on Twitter, Instagram and Facebook with #LaphroaigLive

Some global times of Laphroaig Live on the 24th September:

• UK 8pm

• New York 4pm

  Aperol garden terrace set to open in Edinburgh next week

• Los Angeles 1pm

• Sydney 6am (25th September)

• Stockholm 10pm

• Berlin 10pm

You can join in live on the night here:

Let us know what you think

comments

©JPIMedia Publishing Ltd. All rights reserved.
Cookie SettingsTerms and ConditionsPrivacy Policy
crossmenu linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram