News you can trust since 1817

Edinburgh Festival Fringe 2022: 12 of the best food and drink shows

Looking for a food or drink themed show at this year's Edinburgh Festival Fringe?

Published: August 9, 2022
Categories:

As the Edinburgh Festival and Fringe have kicked off, we take a look at some of the best food and drink themed shows.

From a whisky tasting to immersive gin tastings and a hilarious dinner at Fawlty Towers - here's our pick of some of the best food and drink events to book at this year's Fringe.

Cocktails and Concert with Edinburgh Gin

Picture: Edinburgh Gin

Venue: YOTEL, 68-73 Queen St, Edinburgh

When: 9, 16 and 23 August from 6pm

Ticket price: £35

Gin lovers should definitely book into this immersive cocktail hour.

Hosted by Edinburgh Gin's brand ambassador, Philip Kingscott, the evening takes place in Scotland's first 360-degree cinema.

On the night guests will sip on three creative Edinburgh Gin cocktails, while listening to music inspired by the botanicals and flavours of each of the gins.

AA Hospitality Awards 2022: Full list of Scottish winners and new rosettes

Every week there's a different concert, so returning guests will have a different experience each time.

More information and tickets can be found here.

Arbikie Gin and whisky masterclasses at the A Club

Venue: The A Club at the Merchant's Hall

When: 12-13, 19, 26-27 August from 3pm

The story of the Glasgow pub that is home to the 'real' Stone of Destiny

Ticket price: £25

Join the Arbikie team as their ever-popular series of events returns to Edinburgh this month.

Gin and whisky fans can find out more about their Kirsty’s, AK’s and our climate-positive Nadar Gin, as well as their rye whisky.

There's also live music from ABBA and David Bowie tribute acts.

Edinburgh street food business Junk named best in UK at British Street Food Awards - and set to open restaurant

A spokesperson from Arbikie said: "We have many familiar faces returning to The A Club stage such as ABBA and David Bowie Tributes, some newbies such as 'This is Us' The Greatest Showman Tribute, along with our usual fun Gin and Whisky Tastings."

Find out more and book here.

Faulty Towers The Dining Experience

Picture: Faulty Towers Dining Experience

Venue: Imagination Workshop: Hilton Carlton, 9 North Bridge, EH1 1SD

When: 7-8, 10-15, 17-22, 24-28 August from 1.30 and 7.30pm

Ticket price: from £49.50

Join Basil, Sybil and Manuel as they serve yet more laughs and a three-course meal on this, their 13th visit to the Fringe.

This is the original, internationally acclaimed show that’s 70 per cent improvised, highly interactive, completely immersive and ‘outrageously funny’.

Find out more and book.

The Twenty-Sided Tavern

Venue: Pleasance Dome, 1 Bristo Square, EH8 9AL

When: 9-14, 16-28 August from 4.30pm

Ticket price: from £13

Ok so it may just be the name of this one that's related to drink, but it sounds fun and ideal for fans of Dungeons and Dragons.

Inspired by the gameplay of Dungeons and Dragons, this adventure is never the same tale twice, as audience members control the story from the palm of their hands.

Adventure takes place at the Twenty-Sided Tavern, where the audience can choose heroes, battle monsters and solve riddles to influence the narrative.

The show has had sell out success in New York, Philadelphia, and Pittsburgh.

Putting a genuinely unique spin on experiential entertainment, The Twenty-Sided Tavern combines a dynamic story and real-time tech to create audience-led engagement.

The paths the audience choose and the hilarious outcomes of their decisions allow each performance to be entirely unique.

The Twenty-Sided Tavern was created by David Andrew Laws, Sarah Davis Reynolds, and David Carpenter.

Find out more and book.

Amazing Bangkok Thai Cookery Masterclass

Picture: Shutterstock

Venue: Krua Thai Cookery School, 19 Liberton Brae, EH16 6AQ

When: 7-10, 12, 15-17, 25, 27 August, from 2.30pm and 7pm

Ticket price: £99

Budding chefs will enjoy this masterclass which shows how to cook classic Thai dishes.

Executive chef Rujira Herd will show attendees trade secrets and explain essential ingredients used by professionals.

You'll use these to cook three dishes, with the menu changing daily.

Find out more and book here.

Midnight Drams at Tipsy Midgie Whisky Bar

scotch whisky masters
Picture: Shutterstock

Venue: Tipsy Midgie, 67 St Leonards Hill, EH8 9SB

When: 7-24, 26-28, from midnight

Ticket price: £25

This late night show will be popular with whisky fans, who are invited to join Colin (Whisky Forager) for a flight of three fantastic single malts from his private reserve collection.

Showcasing his latest project, Edinburgh's newest whisky bar, Tipsy Midgie, this event is an ideal way to wind down after a busy day.

For those not keen on whisky, Scottish Gin alternatives are available.

Find out more and book here.

Pickering's Gin Tours

Pickering's tour
Picture: The Gin Cooperative

Venue: Summerhall, 1 Summerhall, EH9 1PL

When: 9-28 August, from 12pm

Ticket price: £25

Find out all about one of Edinburgh's best-loved gins, Pickering's.

Guests will start the tour with a G&T before heading into the workshop and distillery.

You can look forward to seeing some of the quirky inventions that Pickering's have used over the years.

You'll also get to take home neat samples of the award-winning gin and a miniature 5cl bottle of Red Top or Orange Top.

Find out more and book here.

Scottish Food and Drink Walking Tour

Venue: O'Connors, 2-4 Broughton Road, EH7 4EB

When: 10-14, 17-21, 24-28 August, from 11.30am

Ticket price: £55

Why not take your lunch on tour, and discover some of the best Scottish produce available in Edinburgh?

Think cheese, whisky, smoked salmon, Edinburgh gin, haggis and some sweet treats.

The starting point for the walk is O'Connors, and the walk takes in bars and restaurants in the New Town and Stockbridge.

You'll also find out about some of the architectural history of Edinburgh.

Find out more and book here.

Taste Australia

Venue: House of Oz, Kings Hall, EH8 9NZ

When: Monday 8 August: Joseph Tawadros; Monday 15 August: Reuben Kaye; Monday 22 August: Michaela Burger

Ticket price: £75

Southside’s King’s Hall has been transformed into the spectacular House of Oz for 25 days only, as part of the UK/Australia Season of Culture.

On three Mondays in August, Taste Australia will introduce 60 very lucky diners to a unique modern-Australian 5-course degustation (tasting) menu prepared by one of Australia’s most inventive chefs, David Lee.

This is an unmissable opportunity for curious foodies to get up close and personal with Australian artists at a sumptuous feast with exquisite styling, tablescapes and soundscaping.

All the way from Sydney and with nearly 30 years’ experience in some of the finest restaurants, the chef in residence, David Lee is among the pioneers of modern Australian cuisine and includes French, Italian, Middle Eastern and Southeast Asian influences in his cooking.

His dishes favour sustainable and ethically-produced meat and fish and organically-grown fruit and veg.

He has cooked all over the world in world-class restaurants, exclusive private villas and residences, and for many other private clients.

Taste Australia provides a rare opportunity for diners to try incredible and usually inaccessible native ingredients like Alpine Pepper, Bush Tomato, Finger Lime and Lemon Myrtle. There is even Cumbrian-produced native Australian Wattleseed grown by Simon Rogan’s farm near Cartmel.

Each Taste Australia dinner is hosted by an acclaimed artist and performer from Australia who will share compelling stories of their family’s cultural heritage in a unique and genuinely immersive dining experience.

Cabaret icon Reuben Kaye (Russian-Jewish descent), Australian-Egyptian musician Joseph Tawadros, and Michaela Burger (Greek father) have collaborated with David between rehearsals to translate their foodie heritage into dishes that incorporate native Australian ingredients. Expect music, song, humour, wit and perhaps a side order of dance.

Find out more and book here.

To Dram or Not to Dram

SMWS. Queen Street, Edinburgh. Photograph: Mike Wilkinson

Venue: The Scotch Malt Whisky Society, 28 Queen Street, EH2 1JX

When: 9-14, 16-21, 23-28 August, from 12.30

Ticket price: £30

Enjoy three drams and interesting whisky stories from this iconic location in Edinburgh

The SMWS team say: "As unconventional whisky experts, we seek out whisky in its purest form, prize flavour above everything else and give each bottling a curious name."

The Thinking Drinkers Pub Quiz

The Thinking Drinkers Pub Quiz

Venue: Underbelly, Bristo Square, Teviot Place, EH8 9AG

When: 9-14, 16-28 August, from 6.40pm

Ticket price: £12.50

Two leading alcohol experts have returned with this quiz show, in which there's five free drinks.

The team say: "With a pen and question sheet in one hand and several world-class drinks in the other, join them on a uniquely absurd, fact-filled journey through time. It's the perfect aperitif to a Fringe night out."

Find out more and book here.

The Glengoyne Storytelling Experience

Picture: Wikimedia/Andrew Bowden

Venue: Yotel Edinburgh, 68-73 Queen Street, EH2 4NA

When: 24 August, from 7pm

Tickets: £30

Glengoyne's Whisky Experiential Ambassador, Gordon Dallas, will take guests through 200 years of Glengoyne history in the Yotel's Imaginex two-storey 360° screening room featuring

The event features four drams, never before seen pictures and a some dressing up (from Gordon).

Find out more and book here.

Known for cake making, experimental jam recipes, Champagne and gin drinking (and the inability to cook Gnocchi), Rosalind writes for The Scotsman on all things food and drink related as well as hosting Scran, The Scotsman's food and drink podcast.

Let us know what you think

comments

Copyright ©2022 National World Publishing Ltd
Cookie SettingsTerms and ConditionsPrivacy Policy
crossmenu linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram